RSS Feed

Email Update—one week left

The festival seemed to go really well. I think I heard that there were 35,000 people who came the second night of the festival. The different outreaches seemed to be affective, as well. The Palau Association visited the prisons, a school for the deaf, held a women’s lunch, and a dinner for the local business owners, as well as other things that I’m not remembering right now. Unfortunately I wasn’t a part of these ministries, but only learned about them and helped to report about them for the radio. I was actually very sad I wasn’t a part of these other things, but I tried to do my job and do it the best I could, though I struggled very much with it.

At the festival itself, which took place on Saturday and Sunday, after Andrew gave the message, there was a time for counseling so that people could talk with Christians about accepting Christ. It wasn’t just a thing where people said a prayer and didn’t have an opportunity to further understand what that meant. The Palau Association also does an awesome job of following up on these new Christians by training Christian leaders to be there for them even after the association is gone. It’s very cool!

Burundi itself was an AWESOME country. They had a genocide as recently as 93, something that many people who are alive could still remember. However, I felt more love and passion for Jesus and for people than in any other place I’ve been. I later found out that the president of Burundi is a Christian and he and his wife spend 2 or 3 days together, away from others, just praying for their leadership for the next week. That just blew me away… Once a week, they also have a community clean up time where no one can drive without a permit because people are cleaning the streets. Though Burundi is still a “poor” country in terms of money, they are rich because so many have faith in Jesus. I am thankful that I could be there to see that wealth is not a statistic based in monetary value or in belongings, but in the spirit and in how one cares for others.

I go home in exactly one week! I’m excited to see familiar faces again, though I won’t forget what I’ve seen and done and experienced nor the new friends I have.

Thanks for your prayers throughout all of this! It’s been a rocky road.

About bethyadventures

Jesus is first. I want to show Jesus and love to others, and I get excited about Jesus using me to do that. I am so unworthy, but God chose me. Unending love, amazing grace.

Leave a Reply

