RSS Feed

Open the Heavens, All My Fountains

Recently I shared my testimony live on air. There were lots of things that could have made that complicated such as not sharing too much in one chunk so that it got spread throughout the whole program, thinking of just the right words to say and stories to share from my 22 year old lifespan, and trying to think of what might encourage the most people. It was my favorite Today Program so far. I didn’t feel intimidated by the microphone-I was just having a conversation with friends about what the Lord has done in my life. That attitude, and committing my speaking to the Lord, is what made sharing my testimony a positive thing (at least from my point of view).

That was one day last week…I forget when. Last night at church we sang this AWESOME song, that kept reminding me of the main points that I tried to unpack from my story of my walk with God. It’s Open the Heavens, All My Fountains by Chris Tomlin. I love it when there’s a song that says what I try to say better than I can say it.

One of the main things I shared in my testimony, because it’s such a huge part of it, is my two years of struggling with spiritual doubt. I thought I was trying to find God, but I really wasn’t. He had His reasons for being silent, and in the end He rained Himself down on me like I could never have understood without the drought and desperation I felt. And for a while I did believe I never thought I’d find Him, but He brought me back into Himself according to His timing and I can sing this song with assurance that He is real, He cares for me, and He is good.

Open the Heavens, All My Fountains by Chris Tomlin

 

This dry and desert land
I tell myself keep walking on
Hear something up ahead
Water falling like a song
An everlasting stream
Your river carries me home
Let it flow, Let It flow

Open the heavens
come Living Water
All my fountains, are in You
Strong like a river
Your love is running through
All my fountains, are in You

A flood for my soul
A well that never will run dry
I’ve rambled on my own
never believing I would find
An everlasting stream
Your river carries me home
Let it flow, Let It flow

Open the heavens
come Living Water
All my fountains, are in You
Strong like a river
Your love is running through
All my fountains, are in You

Rain down on us
Rain down on us Lord
Rain down on us
Rain down on us Lord
Rain down on us
Rain down on us Lord
Rain down on us
Rain down on us Lord

Open the heavens
come Living Water
All my fountains, are in You
Strong like a river
Your love is running through
All my fountains, are in You

 

 

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v​=TavoD-QobIk

About bethyadventures

Jesus is first. I want to show Jesus and love to others, and I get excited about Jesus using me to do that. I am so unworthy, but God chose me. Unending love, amazing grace.

Leave a Reply

