RSS Feed

Email Update 7.24

Hi, everyone!

The past week has been less eventful than past weeks, but not less important! :) Mostly, I’ve been preparing for the Love Burundi festival which I will be going to next week on Wednesday. The Palau Association has been holding Love festivals in Africa for three years this year, each time in a different place. TWR will be broadcasting the festival for their second time. There’s several ministries that go on during the week and then on the weekend, the main events occur which include Andrew Palau giving a message, Dave Lubben leading worship, and Nicole C. Mullen performing. The ministries include an eye-glass ministry, soccer, BMX, children’s, a prison ministry, and maybe a few more. TWR only broadcasts that Saturday and Sunday when the main events happen. During the week TWR prepares for the broadcast among other things. You can tune in to if you’re interested! Just let me know if you are and I can send you web address. :)

Most of the work I’m doing now involves researching for promos and journalistic pieces to lead up to when the festival starts. This includes bios about the speakers and musicians, interviews, and whatever else might encourage an audience to listen to the festival. We’re also making promos for before the day of the broadcast. It’s lots of work, but it’s fun work. I’d rather be producing this kind of stuff than just about anything else in the work world so I’m happy. I just pray I do a good job, but I know I have things to learn. Once I get to Burundi I’ll be interviewing people, by myself sometimes so I won’t be given second chances or get hand-held then, lots of audio editing, and doing whatever needs to be done at the live broadcast. I can’t wait to meet people with a passion for serving God and to see how I handle working under this kind of pressure. It’s going to be a blast!

Let me share how this all came to be in the first place (not the Love festival, but how I’m able to even go!). I really found out what the Love festival was when I was editing some things from the festival from last year. The more I edited and listened to audio clips, the more exciting it sounded and the more I really wanted to go to Love Burundi this year. I sort of asked about it, not in too much seriousness because it seemed too outlandish that I’d be able to go on a trip like that while I’m here working. However, people encouraged me to look into it and it was even a prayer request a couple of times at work. People were taking my request seriously, and it was lifted up in prayer by myself and others. I asked the man in charge of the broadcast team going how much it may cost for me to go. He said plane tickets were about 1600 USD. I knew there was NO WAY I could afford that. My roommate, Ashley, and I had also talked about going to Victoria Falls before we flew back home and it only cost about 500-600$ which I have in savings and was willing to pay for this once in a lifetime opportunity-one of the 7 natural wonders of the world! The weekend that was best for going to Vic Falls also happened to be the same weekend as Love Burundi. I knew if I could go to Love Burundi, it would take precedence over Vic Falls. So I asked God to somehow make it possible for me to go. I checked plane ticket prices, and found some for around 500-600$, the same prices as going to Vic Falls. So, in that case I could just use my Vic Falls money to pay for the Burundi trip. Also, work friends were so encouraging for me to go to Burundi, then even offered to chip in and help me pay for it if it looked like it was too much. But God made a way that I could afford it on my own without begging. I officially have a place to stay there, should get my VISA early next week, and bought my plane ticket. God really showed me what He does when we lift things up in prayer, and I have such an amazing story to testify to His faithfulness in something that in my eyes was too ridiculous to happen, but did.

Praise God.

About bethyadventures

Jesus is first. I want to show Jesus and love to others, and I get excited about Jesus using me to do that. I am so unworthy, but God chose me. Unending love, amazing grace.

Leave a Reply

