RSS Feed

Thoughts thoughts thoughts

Blog thought 1:

I’ve been meaning to write about this for a while now. The issue of identity is something that comes up in pretty much everyone’s life. Identity can be attributed by the way one dresses (goth, granola, hipster, etc), family ties, the music one listens to, the culture one grows up in (I’m from the south, y’all), appearance, relationships, sexuality, what one excels at, career, or just about any other thing. We like to have a thing to tie to our identity so we feel significant. Here are some things I’ve made my “identity”: my grades, broadcasting, my height (seriously), music choices, and probably some more. It’s not necessarily an evil thing to attach these things to my identity, but I should never let them become the only thing that makes me me. At the Gathering at JBU, the message that spoke to me the most was about this subject. Our identities should be found in Christ if we are a Christian. The other stuff is interesting and cool and makes us unique, yeah, but the thing that truly makes us whole is Christ. The goal of our life shouldn’t be to just excel at being whatever we think we are (I’m going to be a hippy!), but it should be to glorify God by accepting Christ, placing our identity in that, and trying to live out a life that pleases Him while knowing that the only way that can happen is by asking Jesus to be the link between God and us.

Blog thought 2:

I’m struggling with figuring out my passion right now. I’ve been pretty in love with broadcasting for a little while. And it’s still a cool deal for me, but I sometimes doubt if I’ll be working in it forever. There are other things that I really take joy in, as well, like being with kids and volunteering… I also enjoy sitting on the couch, eating junk food, and watching old movies, but that’s not a job. So what is a person who enjoys several things, doesn’t know where her passion truly is, and needs to find a job ASAP to do? This girl keeps being reminded that she should pray that God would reveal her passion to her. A TWR employee who works on the eastern cape of SA came to visit our office and spoke about passion. It was the most appropriate thing for me to hear. God knew I needed that pep talk. So I’m praying lots about that lately. I’ve applied for two jobs. One I am super interested in and the other not so much. I’m open to whatever the Lord has for me. I just don’t know what that is yet.
If anybody reading this has some wisdom about this (or an open job! ;) ) let me know!

About bethyadventures

Jesus is first. I want to show Jesus and love to others, and I get excited about Jesus using me to do that. I am so unworthy, but God chose me. Unending love, amazing grace.

One response »

  1. I completely agree with you on identity. I find it far too common that people lose sight of Christ because they emphasize the parts of their identity that aren’t Him, and suffer division from it. After all, if i’m not really something but just Christ, why get worked up when people insult that thing? I’m impressed that you’re learning this. As for passion, psh, I don’t get that stuff very well at all. Let me know what you find. Someone recently said the ideal life for a person is to find their passion (a.k.a. that thing that makes them “giggle”) then find how that fills a need in the world. But what do I know? I find it so hard to narrow that down to one giggle factor. Anyway, enjoyed this post. Thanks (been meaning to comment on it for a while now.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

