RSS Feed

Email Update Tres!

Hello, everyone!

Things are still good here-more settled in. Two more interns have arrived. I’m understanding my role here better. My live broadcasts are definitely improving…I’m getting comfortable with that microphone in my face if I just make it like I’m just talking to the other announcers. Voice tracking, which just means recording before hand and it plays automatically at the right time, is still a little hard but it’s also improving. It’s the Lord working through it all, though: picking the right songs to play at the right time and giving me the right words to say on air. I could never do something like this on my own.

Last Sunday we traveled to Nelson Mandela square which is in the wealthiest part of South Africa called Sandton. It wasn’t a place that promoted history, but there was a large statue of Mandela doing his famous jiggy dance. I hugged his leg. :) It was a good time because I got to spend time with the other interns and we get along incredibly well for all being from different places in the country and having out own personalities and seasons in life. It’s definitely been the Lord working through this as we are able to encourage one another and share our life experiences with each other. We’ve all been invited to one of the intern’s weddings at the end of the year. So cool!

Relationally, this has already been a tremendous thing for me. I’m in another place where I knew NO ONE. I don’t always do well meeting new people and actively getting to know them. I like to fall back on having one friend somewhere and depending on that to make me not look lonely. Here, though, if I want friends, I better make an effort. And it’s all worked out just fine as I’ve kept the right attitude and everyone here has something to teach me whether it’s in broadcasting, their personal lives, or at Bible study. I can’t wait to make fun memories with everyone!

Beth

About bethyadventures

Jesus is first. I want to show Jesus and love to others, and I get excited about Jesus using me to do that. I am so unworthy, but God chose me. Unending love, amazing grace.

One response »

  1. Tyler Hudgens

    That sounds like a fun statue. We’re praying for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

