RSS Feed

Day 2

[Picture coming soon!] This is my home for 3 months. :D

My “Day 2” started when I woke up. I visited my “house mother,” Juilet, who works for TWR also. She and her husband, Winfred, are both great. My roommate and I live right next to their house in a flat. It’s attached but divided, and it’s very cool. And there’s a DOG. :D

I’m so glad to have a dog to play with. hehe Also my roommate, Ashley, is super. We’ll get along great. :) We even want to switch internships for a day. ;)

The first person from TWR I met, though, was the leader of the TWR-Africa division, Dr. Mbennah. I didn’t actually know how important he was when I met him. I may have been intimidated if I had known actually. haha. We happened to be on the same flight from Amsterdam, though we didn’t see each other until we were picking up our luggage at the carousel here. It was a nice way to start my time within South Africa. He definitely cares about all aspects of TWR…even the lowly interns.

I’ve also met my boss—he picked Mr. Mbennah and I up from the airport and tonight we had dinner with his lovely family. We talked lots about differences between America and South Africa. I’m excited to use new words! No cool accent for me yet, though. Mr. Burkhuizen also took Ashley and I to the TWR offices and we got a short tour of Jo’burg. Both made me more excited to see the city and start my internship.

About bethyadventures

Jesus is first. I want to show Jesus and love to others, and I get excited about Jesus using me to do that. I am so unworthy, but God chose me. Unending love, amazing grace.

Leave a Reply

